One of the most famous Alpine huts in the Dolomites is certainly the structure located a few steps from the Tre Cime di Lavaredo, at a fork, called Toblin, between Mount Paterno and the most famous Dolomite group. This is the Locatelli Refuge (Dreizinnenhutte in German), originally built in 1882 at the behest of the Austro-German Alpine Club, by the Sesto section in Val Pusteria, as the expeditions of the pioneers of climbing and the first hikers on these mountains were increasingly frequent.
Destroyed by a grenade launched by the Italian front during the First World War, it was subsequently restored and enlarged thanks to the intervention of the Alta Pusteria section of the South Tyrolean Alpine Club. It then passed under the aegis of the CAI of Padua, which in 1935 proceeded to a major expansion and restructuring that brought the Locatelli refuge to its present appearance. The original hut, destroyed as mentioned, is remembered by a small monument not far from the current building.
The shelter is named after the memory of Antonio Locatelli, the only Italian soldier to have obtained three gold medals of value, academic of the CAI and, at death, in Ethiopia in the massacre of Lechemti, president of the CAI of his native Bergamo.
To reach the Locatelli, open only during the summer months, there are two main routes: the first, simpler and faster, starts from the parking lot of the Auronzo refuge and with an steady walk of about one hour and 20 minutes, leads to the 2450 meters of the fork. The second, much more demanding and long, starts from the town of Moso, near Sesto, and goes up the whole Fiscalina Valley. An alternative can also be to take the itinerary that starts from Lake Landro, near Dobbiaco, and arrive at the refuge after about three hours of trail, immersed in the Dolomites.